Research for USPC

Songflower
Songflower Member Posts: 608
I keep turning over in my mind how we could support research for our rare cancer. My Gyn Onc is married to another Gyn Onc and committed to dedicating their lives to Gyn Cancers. In my imagination I see the two of them on Television promoting awareness; they are both out of residency 11/2 years and eyecatching. But then how would we raise funds? With this neuropathy I can't race for the cure (although I have had breast too). And we need something different. If we put our heads together can we think of something catchy? Could we do it? I don't even know where the major research is occuring for our cancer; I know Yale does some research but there must be other institutions and leaders. How do we start? I've never done anything like this before, but as I read your blogs I just feel like we need to try and do something. Any one with ideas and spare energy (I know with treatment where energy is)? Toss it around in your mind. Let's see if we can come up with something together.

Diane

Comments

• daisy366
    daisy366 Member Posts: 1,458 Member
    I know that my doc has done some research. at my next visit in 2 months I will ask him about UPSC research. I think - not sure about this, though - that cancer centers/resarchers apply for grants but I don't know how these grants get started. That's what we need to find out. Are there any famous people with our type of cancer?? If there is maybe they will donate money for research. I wonder if the American Cancer Soceity can answer these questions.

Readers, do you have any info?
  • daisy366
    daisy366 Member Posts: 1,458 Member
    daisy366 said: