Newbie here - How to tell young children

Options
pitt
pitt Member Posts: 387
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Can anyone give me some advice about how to talk to my young daughters about this? I was just diagnosed with Stage I invasive ductal breast cancer. My 10 year old knows something is up. Our good friend went through chemo for this last year and now my daughter is scared that I am going to lose my hair. Any advice?

As for me, I'm 38 and went for a routine mammogram in June. I wasn't even going to go since I'm not 40 and the ACS doesn't recommend until we reach 40. I decided to go at the last minute and then was told to come back for a diagnostic mammogram. After that, a stereotactic biopsy, which was awful. I bled for a week and a HUGE hematoma formed at the insertion sight. Since then, I have had an excisional biopsy which showed that I have Stage I invasive ductal breast cancer. It is estrogen receptive, thank god. I am still waiting for the HER2 results. They are going to test me for the BRAC gene. I had an MRI as well but won't get the results until Monday. The area is only 0.9cm so if the HER2 adn MRI come back with good news then my surgeon suggests lumpectomy with radiation. If not, then mastectomy and chemo.

Here's a question: does anyone know what the recurrence % is for women who have a lumpectomy vs. mastectomy. I know survival is the same...but what about recurrence?

Anyway, glad to have found this website. Still trying to figure it all out. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Noel
    Noel Member Posts: 3,095 Member
    Options
    Hi Pitt and Welcome ☻