anybody have ?? about their dr?

Options
pokismom
pokismom Member Posts: 153
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hi, I'm a newbie, kind of shy, just like to read what all you nice people have to say, but lately I've been feeling so confused. I decided to get a 2nd opinion from this surgeon who came from M.D Anderson in my town. Well my first visit was like heaven he was so nice and attentive, then he went over my scan and said that he could try to remove my spots on my lungs but I would have to commit to 2 surgeries. Okay, so that was a shock to me because the previous surgeon said he couldn't do it and we should just do a biopsy and then chemo therapy. So we decided to meet again after he talked to my Onc. I then got called to do a Petscan, they wanted to check my liver to make sure it was okay. Well I went back to see the nice surgeon and he said my liver was clear but that we should do a biopsy and then the chemo. I'm guessing that this was after talking to my Onc. I feel confused and am wondering what are they not telling me, I have a call in to the surgeon to ask him, I guess I was so dumbfounded during the meeting I didnt ask why no surgery, well he hasn't called me back today so I'll call again tomorrow. My oncologist is always not saying anything to me and I have to press him to get an answer. I had a cat scan in July that showed the spots on my lungs and I was pressing him on what we should do, I was getting the impression that he wanted to wait so I confronted him and he said that would have been his plan for me to wait till we could do a needle biopsy. I insisted that we do something now so he sent me to the first surgeon. I was stage III , resection in 12/07 chemo 1/08- 7/08 and now spots on my lungs. I had folfox series with trial of erbitux. I'm thinking of switching oncologist, but all the good ones are in the same group. I feel like I'm going mental or something and I'm trying so hard to hold it together.
Donna

Comments

• Sundanceh