Board question: CAPS?

Options
TraciInLA
TraciInLA Member Posts: 1,994 Member
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
This may be an ignorant question, so my apologies in advance:

I'm wondering why some of you write your posts in ALL CAPS? I myself find it very difficult to read long stretches of text in all caps, but I'm new to message boards, so there may be a reason I'm not aware of? Would just be curious to know.

Traci

Comments

• m_azingrace
    m_azingrace Member Posts: 399
    Options
    When I first started
    When I first started visiting discussion boards and chats, I learned that CAPS should be used only for specific emphasis, and that using all caps, all the time was bad internet etiquette...the equivalent of SHOUTING. I think some people just forget to turn off the caps button. In situations like this, where we may feel angry and helpless, caps are also a way to vent our deepest feelings.
  • Eil4186
    Eil4186 Member Posts: 949
    Options
    I heard the same
    I heard the same thing---caps for emphasis. All cap =shouting!
  • Rague
    Rague Member Posts: 3,653 Member
    Options
    Eil4186 said:

I heard the same
    I heard the same thing---caps for emphasis. All cap =shouting!

Same here, based on all the
    Same here, based on all the horse forums I go to. Caps for a word (or 2 if you don't have the option to make the word bold or underlined) - all caps = yelling and rude.
  • chenheart
    chenheart Member Posts: 5,159
    Options
    I really need help! Having
    I really need help! Having read your earlier post about going out in public sans hair, I thought this post was going to be about scarves, wigs, hats, or CAPS! Imagine my surprise when it was about Capital Letters! LOL LOL And everyone who posted has it right...I suppose some are less than perfect typists, or new online, or distraught when they type. I dunno.... But I don't know what kind of Cap/wig/hat/scarf is best either! :-)

Hugs,
    Claudia
  • Marcia527