Masectomy....happy with results?

Options
2»

Comments

• Kat11
    Kat11 Member Posts: 1,931 Member
    Options
    dancR22 said:

cancer returned - now having to make some decisions...HELP!!?
    Well...here we go again...it's been 10 years since my first diagnosis ( lumpectomy, radiation, tamoxifen) and last week received results from needle biopsy and confirmed it has returned. Soooo met with surgeon last thurs - doing mastectomy - have an appoint with plastic surgeon tomorrow. Have been reading tons about reconstruction options so any info is appreciated. DIEP, implants, tissue expanders...

Have an MRI scheduled for Wed. for other breast- but will be getting results tomorrow re BRCA, so that will determine whether need MRI and whether to do both breasts. Not even sure what I am asking...but just want to connect with others going through similar thing.

Thanks in advance - karen :)

HI Karen, So sorry for your
    HI Karen, So sorry for your new DX. I am pretty new to this myself just had surgery a week ago wednesday. My God after 10 years, I would have thought you would be in a safe zone. Shows you what I know. Again sorry, My prayers are with you.
  • taleena
    taleena Member Posts: 1,612 Member
    Options
    dancR22 said:

Well...here we go again...it's been 10 years since my first diagnosis ( lumpectomy, radiation, tamoxifen) and last week received results from needle biopsy and confirmed it has returned. Soooo met with surgeon last thurs - doing mastectomy - have an appoint with plastic surgeon tomorrow. Have been reading tons about reconstruction options so any info is appreciated. DIEP, implants, tissue expanders...

Have an MRI scheduled for Wed. for other breast- but will be getting results tomorrow re BRCA, so that will determine whether need MRI and whether to do both breasts. Not even sure what I am asking...but just want to connect with others going through similar thing.

Karen, I am so sorry that