Hi all

Options
Ngoc
Ngoc Member Posts: 5
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi all,
This is my first time to visit this website. It was impossible that I was diagnosed with breast cancer at 24 (one and half year ago). I was scared and I cried a lot last year. I had 8 weeks for chemo and 33 radiations. Now, I'm done with all treatments but still taking Tamoxifen in 5 years. Does anyone know the effects of Tamoxifen on having a baby? However, 5 years later, without Tamoxifen, is there a high risk for cancer cells to come back to the body? (I mean "RECURRENCE") Thanks!

Comments

• cats_toy
    cats_toy Member Posts: 1,462 Member
    Options
    Welcome Ngoc
    Sorry, I have not been put on Tamoxifen, but there are probably a few on this site that have, and when they see your post, they will be chiming in.
    Yes 24 seems way to young to be diagnmosed. I was diagnosed at 50, but had the tumor for at least a year prior. That used to be considered young, but not anymore.
    Sorry you had to find this site, but you will find an amazing group of people here that will support you, cheer you on, commiserate with you when you're down, and provide as much info as they can. I am fairly new here myself, but there are some who have been here for quite awhile. There is also a young people's site you might want to visit, they may have more info regarding the baby thing.
    Good luck to you and come back often
    =^..^=
  • tasha_111
    tasha_111 Member Posts: 2,072
    Options
    cats_toy said:

Welcome Ngoc
    Sorry, I have not been put on Tamoxifen, but there are probably a few on this site that have, and when they see your post, they will be chiming in.
    Yes 24 seems way to young to be diagnmosed. I was diagnosed at 50, but had the tumor for at least a year prior. That used to be considered young, but not anymore.