thyroid problems

ralphie322
ralphie322 Member Posts: 20
lately i have been gaining weight ,having all types joint pain, fatty liver,tossin and turning,stiffness, just came back from the temple cancer center. they said i have to lose a couple of pounds,but eveything else is fine but i cant even when i diet. i asked the doctor about long term side effects of chemo he said that is a myth i had radiaion to to the head @neck could this cause thyroid problems. my symptoms read like hypothyroidism i read these off the internet is there anyone out there with advice thank you ........GO PHILS

Comments

• hodgkoid2003
    hodgkoid2003 Member Posts: 94
    Radiation vs. Thyroid... A Myth?????
    As I always say, I'm not a doctor but...

In all my years of dealing with HD, radiation, and other serious side effects, I can't believe that you have been told that radiation to the neck could cause thyroid issues would be a myth. It is so well documented that the liklihood of thyroid issues does exist.

Myself, I am hypothyroid as a result of the radiation therapy. In fact, the condition was actually diagnosed as early as a few months following my rads, though it took years for me to actually take anything for it. Just as a disclaimer, as far as radiation affecting the thyroid... perhaps the dosage may have something to do with it, or even the way it is administered. But for the record, I received over 4500 rads to my neck and I have a close friend who recieved over 8000. Granted this was 20 years ago and definitely a high amount of rads than what they use today.

But for peace of mind, get a second opinion. In fact, you don't even need to go through an oncologist, you can get simple bloodwork done through your GP. But I would think thyroid follow-up would almost be standard protocol for radiation to the neck.

Not a big Phils (baseball fan), but I am glued to the Flyers!!!

Paul E. (Hodgkoid2003)
  • hodgkoid2003
    hodgkoid2003 Member Posts: 94