Arimidex

Options
ACD57
ACD57 Member Posts: 9
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi there,
This is my first time posting. I had a mastectomy with tissue expander on my left breast 4 weeks ago and my oncologist wants me to start on Arimidex when I'm ready to return to work in about 2 weeks. I was wondering if anyone can give me some insight on what it's like to be on the drug. (The side effects I've read about are not too enticing).

Thank you. A

Comments

• sure_hope
    sure_hope Member Posts: 60
    Options
    personally
    I didn't have any side affects. None what so ever.

sheri
  • sure_hope
    sure_hope Member Posts: 60
    Options
    correction
    I mean, I did not have any side 'effects'. :)
  • chenheart
    chenheart Member Posts: 5,159
    Options
    Arimidex
    Last Saturday, I finished 5 years of Arimidex...the only "side effect" I had was that I did NOT have a recurrance of cancer! Definitely worth it, doncha think??!! Good luck to you!

Hugs,
    Claudia
  • Derbygirl
    Derbygirl Member Posts: 198
    Options
    I'm taking Femara which is
    I'm taking Femara which is in the same group of drugs as Arimidex for post-menopausal womenn. My Oncologist mentioned common side effects as muscle aches, hot flashes, vaginal dryness and osteoporosis. After taking Femara for three months I have lower back aches and vaginal dryness. Glucosamine/chondroitin was added by my Onc at the same time as Femara. We all react differently to meds so don't expect to feel a certain way. There are side effects with all meds, but for preventing recurrence of breast cancer, the potential benefit outweighs the side effects for me.
  • kay48
    kay48 Member Posts: 2
    Options
    Arimidex-aromatase inhibitor