do your own research before making a decision

Options
tommaseena
tommaseena Member Posts: 1,769
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I am new to this and I have found that doing your own research helps to come up with the right questions to ask your providers.

I was told that only a lumpectomy with lymph node biopsy is all that I needed but with DCIS with invasion that was not the option when I went for a second opinion.
Path report showed same and HER2+ meeting with medical oncologist 2/20/09.

I had routine mammogram on 11/10/08
Mag views on 11/17/08
Stereo static biopsy 12/3/08
breast cancer diagnosis 12/8/08

Second opinion in January.
Surgery on 2/2/09 discharged from hospital 2/4/09--double mastectomy with tissue expanders.
last pain meds 2/5/09 percocet 5 mg.

I am a strong woman and have support from wonderful people like you all.
Power of prayers--lots of them--help.

I also have a medical background and I think sometimes it scares some drs.
I found that when I saw the first dr on 12/1/08 and what he was telling me that I needed a lumpectomy with lymph node biopsy I had to do research myself and the second dr was wonderful and the ps as well--both women. I don't know if women drs are the correct people to see but in my case it was the best.

I will keep coming back to this site for answers and post my experiences as well.

It is wonderful that there is a place where people can share.

My prayers are with you all.

Margo

Comments

• Aortus
    Aortus Member Posts: 967
    Options
    Second opinions are crucial