port problems

Options
Julie 44
Julie 44 Member Posts: 476 Member
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
need suggestions
I am having pain in my arm where my port is. My arm aches all the time and I can't lay on that side. I also can't lift anything heavy because it will cause pain..My arm tingles alot and falls to sleep often. Anybody have the same problem and can give me some relief???

Comments

• changing2
    changing2 Member Posts: 118
    Options
    Port
    Hi, I had port problems in the beginning. Let your MD know as they can do a scan and check to see the placement. Yours almost sounds like a pinched nerve (I'm no expert) with the tingling in the arm etc. Mine was more of an ache or pain but stopped aching after awhile, yet to this day they can't get blood out but chemo goes in fine...it's been over 2 years and 4 rounds of chemo...still using the same port though! Just get it checked! Keep us posted!

• taraHK
    taraHK Member Posts: 1,952 Member
    Options
    get it checked out
    I haven't had any such problems. I think you need to get this checked out -- it isn't normal. Good luck.
    Tara
  • KathiM
    KathiM Member Posts: 8,028 Member
    Options
    I agree with others....
    I had my port thru 2 cancers, for 2 years. I never had pain, even right after insertion when they did chemo with it (one hour later...lol!).

Call your doctor...the surgeon who placed it...

The only trouble I ever had was near the end of the chemo for the second cancer. It had to be flushed more frequently, and occasionally they had a bit of a hard time getting the chemo started....

Hugs, Kathi
  • lisa42
    lisa42 Member Posts: 3,625 Member
    Options
    how long has your port been in place?
    Hi,