Question from a patient partner...on reoccurance....

KathiM
KathiM Member Posts: 8,028 Member
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
One of my favorite PP's asked me about scans and reoccurance.

Her initial was in the rectum. Her reoccurance was in the lung. She is in treatment now, but her onc says he wants a PET scan every 6 weeks to watch her progress, she's a bit nervous about all the radiation, both past and future....Any thoughts? Is this 'normal'?

Hugs, Kathi

Comments

• dorookie
    dorookie Member Posts: 1,731 Member
    Radiation from the PET scan?
    Is she worried about the radiation from the PET scan? If so I believe that is a small amount, but I am not an expert. I too, have had a reoccurance in the lung, they just recently did surgery to remove it, and from my my ONC said, I wont have to have radiation at all, just mop up chemo for 6 months. Is her case different? Is she being told she will have to have radiation as well as chemo? If that is the case then I am not sure of the side affects. I do have faith in my ONC and I dont see where any ONC is going to put one through more radiation if it were going to be worse for them, wouldnt you agree?

Good Luck to your friend.
    God Bless
    Beth
  • Seems unusual
    Kathi, I also had rectal cancer with recent mets to my lung and surgery to remove the nodules. My thoracic surgeon is on the staff of the Medical College of Wisconsin and practices at a large teaching hospital. When I had my last PET and CT he told me that he would not recommend scanning sooner than every 3 months which is the shortest amount of time to identify any noticable difference. I don't think that radiation exposure was a big concern. Of course everyone's situation is different and it's possible that the location of the cancer is the concern or the rate of growth which might cause an obstruction. Might be beneficial to ask the oncologist for more information on that decision to scan so often.
  • Monicaemilia