Insurance for Young People

frisco_seabiscuit
frisco_seabiscuit Member Posts: 10
edited March 2014 in Young Cancer Survivors #1
Hi everyone,

I do not have cancer, but my Dad was dx stage IV colon cancer a few months ago. I've had a lot of GI issues, and I do not have insurance. I live in CA, but am not yet a resident. I lived in WA for a long time and am getting free birth control through the state. I'm a full time grad student, nonsmoker in my mid twenties, without any real diagnosed pre-existing conditions. Does anyone know about some kind of health insurance available for a person in my situation? I've heard of some different insurance options through the state, but since I no longer live in WA and am not yet a resident of CA, is there anything for me?

I'm worried that it will be a few years until I have insurance through my workplace, and I hate being scared that something bad will happen with my health and I won't be able to pay for it. I've already had a few health related problems come up when I needed to see a doctor and I seriously can't afford to be without insurance. I also can't afford paying $100 or more per month. I think many other young people are stuck between a rock and a hard place. HELP!

Comments

• This comment has been removed by the Moderator
  • bigsister
    bigsister Member Posts: 5
    school subsidies
    Hi,

You mentioned that you are a grad student, so it might be worth looking into your schools' insurance plan(s). Some schools have terrible insurance plans that don't cover anything, but some have decent insurance plans and you can get it subsidized through the school.