Hair after Chemo

Options
djyellowvette
djyellowvette Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi Everyone,
I am new to this discussion board and cancer for me. Had experience with mother's breast cancer in 1991, she is a survivor and my father died with Lung Cancer that metastosized to the bones in 1983. I have just been diagnosed with Stage 3 Invasive ductal carcinoma in one breast. Have decided to do mastectomy, but unfortunately I have negative receptors and that will make me candidate for Chemotherapy. My mother had positive hormonal receptors and was able to use the Tamoxifin therapy with great success and little side effects.
My question is regarding Hair loss. I have been told it normally comes out after 2nd treatment. I have been told I will have 4 treatments 1/wk every 2 wks for the first compound, sp? adreomycin/cytoxin and then 4 treatments 1/wk every 2 wks for a second compound, sp? taxol.
What is the pattern for coming out? Little by little, out in bunches? Is there a point when you just cut or shave it all off? What is normal hair growth return, when growth starts, what is texture, color, & how fast does it grow back? Once growth starts, does it stay or start and fall out again?
I understand from my hospital support center, there are free wig & head wrap options provided thru the American Cancer Society. Does anyone have any knowledge of making wig out of your own hair? I have very long hair, brown with a little gray, almost to my waist and it has been with me in this long state since 1962. So this is going to be a major life changing appearance for me to adjust to; in addition to dealing with the survival rate situation.
Any help?
Any suggestions of things to do pre surgery to ease life after surgery?
Appreciate any info or sharings
dj

Comments

• tan39
    tan39 Member Posts: 49
    Options
    HAIR LOSS
    Hi DJ