Need some advice.

Options
rmap59
rmap59 Member Posts: 266
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi all,
This is my first time on the breast cancer forum, I participate on the colon cancer forum because thats what I have had to deal with. My mom was dx with breast cancer today. They are giving her the option of lumpectomy, rads/chemo or mastectomy. She is 77 years old and leaning toward the mastectomy but my fear is her age and the recovery. Can someone who has had a mastectomy tell me about the recovery, how long, how painful, what pain meds helped, etc.
Thanks for replies, Robin

Comments

• KathiM
    KathiM Member Posts: 8,028 Member
    Options
    Hey Robin, nice to see you!

My mom, at 78, had a single mastectomy after a diagnosis of breast cancer. She just didn't want the hassles, and her breasts were small anyway. She has done VERY well...she is now almost 85. She did not do reconstruction. She was stage 1, so she only had radiation, no chemo....

Please feel free to e-mail me here with any questions I can ask my mom from your mom!

Hugs, Kathi

PS, mom is a 2-fer survivor like me...had endometrial cancer, total hyster, when she was 73....she is NED on both....
  • There are two types of mastectomies....simple and radical. The simple procedure removes only the breast tissue. Recovery is relatively easy and pain is well managed with simple meds.
    A radical mastectomy involves the removal of breast tissue, muscle tissue, and usually some lymph nodes from under the arm. Recovery involves a drain tube for a few days, physical therapy to recover full range of motion in shoulder and arm, and most women report pain in recovering nerves for some weeks.
    If your mother is otherwise healthy she should withstand either procedure quite well. She will need to plan for a simple lifestyle and help with daily activities for a few weeks.
    **** luck to her and God bless.