Bowel Urgency Following Resection

Options
jzanches
jzanches Member Posts: 5
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
I am a 71-year-old retired chemist. I normally walk 3+ miles and bicycle 7+ miles every day and play tennis doubles 2-3 times a week for 2 hours. In early Dec. 2007 I had a routine colonoscopy that resulted in the removal of a large polyp that subsequently proved to be cancerous. Complicating things, my colon was perforated during the procedure which resulted in a four-day hospital stay after an emergency room visit. The colon resection surgery was done on Jan. 2 and, owing to my rapid recovery I was discharged three days after the surgery. The removed section of colon as well as the removed associated lymph nodes were found to be cancer free. My recovery continued for about another week after which my bowel movements became strained and became quite frequent, often with little discharge. Drinking the usual fiber preps, mineral oil, V-8 and prune juice and eating lots of fruits including dry prunes and apricots only marginally improved the situation. The surgeon suggested drinking more fluids which I think I am doing. As I do have at least two-three major BMs a day blockage or adhesions are not indicated although they cannot be ruled out. The more active I am and the more I keep my mind off of the urgency the better off I am although the urgency doesn't seem to go away for very long. I should mention that I also have a bad case of hemmrhoids. Any suggestions?

Jose

Comments

• shmurciakova
    shmurciakova Member Posts: 906 Member
    Options
    Hello Jose,