New Stoma site questions

redlady23
redlady23 Member Posts: 13
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
I recently under went surgery, post chemo and radiation, to remove most of my rectum along with a bowel resection....there were complications and I had to have a second surgery (3 weeks after the first) which required a colostomy. I am two weeks post second surgery and my incision area is easing up on my pain but the stoma site is still very sore and has twinges of pain.

I am very anxious to find out if this pain will also cease. I am having a really hard time imagining that my life will ever get close to normal again. I am still learning how to make the wafer not leak and how to wear clothes with this bag attached to my body.

If you have any insight that could share with me, I would greatly appreciate it. The last 6 weeks have created great stress in my life and I am so hoping that there is an end in sight.

The Drs and nurses try to tell me it will all work out but, of course, they have no actual experiene with this.

Thank you for any comments.

Comments

• neon356
    neon356 Member Posts: 137 Member
    hello Redlady, be assured that the pain will go away and your life will get pretty much back to normal. The first few months can be difficult, the stoma area is still inflamed and probably puffy which can make it tricky to get a good wafer seal. But once the swelling goes away and the stoma reaches its final size you'll be able to find a wafer that works best for you and leakage will be only an occasional problem. Just hang in there for a few months and you'll be OK. Good luck,---Carl
  • libris
    libris Member Posts: 23
    Just to second what Carl has said. Life gets back to normal, albeit a "new" normal. Do you have an ostomy nurse coming for home visits? If you can get one you may find it extremely helpful. Mine ordered new supplies for me until we found what really worked. Best of luck!
  • kirsten1
    kirsten1 Member Posts: 23
    Hi redlady..