bone mets?

karenack
karenack Member Posts: 90
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I have a question. As many of you know I have been battling severe hip pain for the last several months. At first I thought it was residual pain from the Neulasta shots but after a couple of months went by the pain persisted. My onc sent me to my ortho. He thought that I had developed bursitis in both hips as a result of the chemo. I went for a follow up yesterday and after hearing that I am not improving with cortisone and ultrasound he has ordered a bone scan to rule out mets. Needless to say I am very nervous about this. I was only dx'ed in Aug of 06, had lump, chemo, rads and ovaries removed. Does anyone know what the average lapse of time is from diagnosis to development of mets? I was thinking that it was much too soon to worry about mets....Thanks for sharing any information you might have. Karen

Comments

• LesleyH
    LesleyH Member Posts: 370
    I am glad you are going for follow-up tests and I really really hope all the test does is say you have arthritis or something. Yay arthritis! The problem with this disease is that there really is no set time progression. Most people develop mets within 2 years of diagnosis, but it can take as long as 25 years. I have known people who have developed mets with NO primary in the breast. Others simply did not respond to the chemo and developed the mets while on chemo. There is wide variation in how this cancer spreads or does not. Don't borrow trouble before you know for sure. I will be hoping for the best outcome for you.

Hugs.

Lesley
  • cabbott
    cabbott Member Posts: 1,039 Member