Iron Deficiency Anemia

inkblot
inkblot Member Posts: 698 Member
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi Ladies,

During my recent oncology check up (now once yearly) my doc discovered that I'm anemic. Quite a surprise. My only symptoms had been fairly mild:
1. I'd taken up crunching ice, which I've never done before.
2. I'd get an occasional muscle cramp in my upper or lower leg upon physical exertion.
3. I noticed over the previous months that I'd become fatigued easier than ever before but just chalked it up to aging. Otherwise, no pains, aches or complaints. Doc noticed that my gums and lips were pale. Obviously this developed so slowly that I hadn't noticed.

My Ferritin level is at 8, so she says I'm more than just a little deficient. Began iron supplements right away. Many gastric problems with that and finally found something which is easier on the tummy, so going ok with that part of it. However, docs have concluded that I'm loosing blood somewhere, so the search begins. No obvious urine/stool bleeding but stool test for occult (hidden from the naked eye) blood came back positive. I take a lot of Vit C, so docs aren't sure whether the test was skewed due to the "C", as it can cause occult tests to read falsely positive.

Am scheduled next week for an endoscopy and colonoscopy. Will have both procedures at the same time. Sounds most unpleasant to say the least. Gastro doc says it will likely take no more than 30 minutes for both and that I will be out, so I guess that's consoling! I'm sure that it will be one of those days which will only be memorable because it's BEHIND me! LOL

Gastro doc is also a cancer survivor and says that