Invasive vs. In situ RCC?

KCFighter
KCFighter Member Posts: 50
edited March 2014 in Kidney Cancer #1
My pathology report says I had "invasive" RCC. When I asked my surgeon about it, he it didn't mean anything & thinking it did was a common misconception. However, I have read that your path report will say either Invasive or In situ & that invasive does mean something - and not a good something. Has anyone else looked into this?

Comments

• dleather
    dleather Member Posts: 11
    KC Fighter, Hi I'm Don. I think we met once on the chat line but I am not certain about that. I'm not an expert on kidney cancer but I have been battling it for 3 years. I went to a seminar last year that M.D. Anderson held for kidney cancer survivors and will tell you what they told us. Now if you don't know, M.D. Anderson has been rated by U.S. News & World Report as the No. 1 cancer treatment clinic in the whole U.S.A. The oncologists there are among the world's best. Here is what they have to say. They say that if kidney cancer has not spread, in other words it is in situ, you have a high percentage of survival. But, they say, once the cancer spreads beyond the kidney the chances for survival are greatly diminished. Now I don't know the different degrees (stage 1, stage 2, etc., etc.) but they just say it's a different ball game once it spreads. I'm highly suspicious about your doctor's position, perhaps you may have misunderstoon... I just can't imagine a doctor being so uninformed about life and death situations if you indeed really understood him correctly. If I were you I would get to M.D. Anderson as quickly as possible. But that's me. I hope you do well.