Rectal Cancer - Support for my Mom

Options
Caligirl
Caligirl Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hello everyone, I'm brand new to this wonderful place of support and am in desperate need of a person who is either going through or has gone through Rectal Cancer to "buddy up" with my mother who is 71 years old and was diagnosed on June the 13th. We have made it through the first 5 weeks of treatment and are now in the "waiting period" until we meet with the surgeon and schedule the surgery. I am her 45 year old daughter who has moved home to care for her, as my father is 76 and has health issues of his own.

As a brief history, over the last 3 years we survived my parents being hit by a Texas State Trooper while drving to Tennessee, (2002), then they lost their home of 34 years in 2003 to the Firestrom that ripped through San Diego, and we got nothing out of the house, then last year 2004, the Manufactured Home company they were getting their new home from, forgered their signatures on documents, closed escrow early and took the money, (we currently have the District Attorney investigating this), so when the Cancer diagnosis came on June the 13th, we were given permission to move my parents into the home to help in Mom's coming treatments and surgery. As you can imagine both my parents are swimming in frustration, disbelief, depression and helplessness, and we've all tried our best to jump in and take over, but what Mom needs now, is to talk to and or meet with someone who has gone through what she is going through to "justify" for lack of a better work, what she is feeling and to have a safe place to share her pain and fears. My parents are strong, proud people, they don't want to be burdens to their children and grandchildren, even if we tell them they aren't and we are honored to help.

I just wish there was more I could do...

Anyone out there that knows what I'm talking about, can anyone help us?