fellow survivors stage 3

gerddy
gerddy Member Posts: 19
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hello,
I'm new to this cite. My double masectomy was on January 27, 2005. I will have my third chemo treatment Monday March 28, 2005.

I am 41 and otherwise in great health. I would like to conect with someone else in a similiar situation. I'm clasified as stage 3 because my tumor was so large and I had many positive nodes.

I'd love to hear from all, I need a little encouragement.
Thanks,
gerddy

Comments

• roxanne53
    roxanne53 Member Posts: 154
    Hello gerddy,
    I had masectomy on left breast April 13, 2000 for DCIS.
    My right breast was removed on April 8, 2003. I am stage 3A with 5 positive nodes out of 18.
    So I now have a bilateral masectomy just not at the same time. I am er+ & pr+ along with Her2nu +.
    Also, had chemo and radiation. I am now on Arimidex.

You will do fine. I am 51, ten years difference.

HUGS to you.
    :)
    Roxanne
  • SusanAnne
    SusanAnne Member Posts: 245
    Hi gerddy,

I was 45 when dx'd stage 3. My tumor was 8cm. I had a mastectomy, chemo (AC & Taxol & Herceptin) and radiation. I had one node positive out of 10. I know things feel a little overwhelming at this point, but the further you get from dx, treatment and recovery, things will get better. I just passed my two year anniversary and I am doing fine. I never thought I would get here but time has a way of passing no matter what you're going thru. Just get thru the stages bit by bit, taking the best care of yourself along the way. When you feel up to it, take your life back a little at a time and before you know it things will be much better. Hang in there and feel free to email at any time.

Susan
  • michelle2098
    michelle2098 Member Posts: 2