Malignant Melanoma Mastasized to Liver

MaryanSteve
MaryanSteve Member Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Skin Cancer #1
This is my first time here. Has anyone been treated at Sloan Kettering?
We live in Upstate NY and I just don't feel his best treatment is here. He has recieved one session of Chemo (3 days on 3 weeks off.) Oncologist refused to discuss Stage or Prognosis and feels we may never know if it came from eye or skin. My research indicates treatment is different for each and we need answers fast. So we have an appointment at Sloan next Monday.
He was already weak from the 3 weeks to diagnosis and the Chemo has really weakened him. The onset of this cancer came on so quickly - he was fine on Sept 1st and sick as can be by Sept 17. We are both in our early 50's and both work heavy highway construction. My husband has filed for retirement and I've filed FMLA to be with him constantly.
Any and all advice is welcome.
Maryan

Comments

• parisgal
    parisgal Member Posts: 3
    Hi
    I don't know how much I can help you, but here goes...

My father also has late stage melanoma, and no point of origin. He was orginally diagnosed in stage III (large lump in his lymph node) and is now stage IV (when they found tumors in the liver). I believe that late stage melanomas are assumed to be skin type, or possibly the origin is considered less important at that point. In any case, it has not worried my dad's doctors for his treatment.

Short answers, since the melanoma has metastized to the liver, it's stage IV melanoma. The prognosis is not good, and the treatments are not very sucessful. Depending in the type of chemo that your husband is undergoing, the partial success rate is 20-40% (slowing the growth for a while).