sister with pancreatic cancer

the_sisters2
the_sisters2 Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Rare and Other Cancers #1
my sister is 45 yrs. old and was diagnosed with pancreatic cancer in november. she had the wipple procedure, 6 wks of radiation and chemo and 4 mos.of gemcitibine. This has been the most frightening time of my life. I DESPERATELY need some POSITIVE RENFORCEMENT.
She has one more infusion and the active treatment will be finished.This is my first time on the site.THANK YOU the sisters 2

Comments

• triplet
    triplet Member Posts: 3
    I just want you to know that my 44 sister is diagnosed with pancreatic cancer and the only thing to get you through this is trusting in God. I constantly look at the nurses in the hopsital and say how does any one get through this without trusting in God? It is a terrible disease and my sister is a fighter and has many people praying for her. I will start praying for your sister if you want me to.
  • punkymay
    punkymay Member Posts: 11
    I had a related cancer, cancer of the ampulla of vader or ampullary cancer. My sister was larger than life when she stayed with me in the hospital. She slept on a sofa in my room for 11 days. When I needed something from the nurses, she got them hopping.

Just being there will mean so much to your sister. Don't be offended if she doesn't want to talk. This thing takes so much out of you and talking was an effort for me. For this reason, I wanted no visitors or phone calls - only my sister, who understood.

There is one thing I really enjoyed - joking and teasing. Laughter was like pain medicine for me. It really bothered me when people looked at me with pity and I hated flower arrangements that looked the same as those sent to funeral homes. I didn't want to be reminded of how close to death I was.