working and cancer

lbredehoft
lbredehoft Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
I recently was diagnosed with breast cancer. I am preparing for the chemo treatments to come beginning next week. I am also an elementary school teacher. Is there anyone out there who also works with children? How did you handle the parents and students? Just want to know what to expect because the new school year is approaching.

Comments

• krisrey
    krisrey Member Posts: 194
    Hi Ibredehoft,
    I think you will find many of us working and having children. For me, my children were in 3rd grade (last year) when I was dx. If there is one thing I found out is that children, especially my childrens friends, were great. I didn't know if my kids would be embarrassed if I went to school, with the very obvious signs of chemo. I have the greatest kids, it didn't matter to them and they always encouraged me...even at that young age! I don't believe in hiding information from kids, so I was very honest with my kids, (power is knowledge even at that young age) so if their friends asked them about me, they pretty much said my mom has cancer! I did not wear a wig, but wore a hat. I worked all through the chemo and pretty much decided that I don't really care what people think.
    I met this one women online that also had breast cancer and she had kids the same age as mine. She went to her sons 3rd grade class and talked to the class about her cancer. I think if the mystery is taken out of the whole thing, then it is much easier to deal with. Lets face it, the hair loss is probably the most devistating thing, but explaining that its only a side effect of the meds and it will grow back pretty quickly, most kids just accept it.
    Good luck with your start of treatment, what chemo regiment will you be on?
    Kris
  • wildangel
    wildangel Member Posts: 81