Awaiting Mastecomy

Options
rcknrob
rcknrob Member Posts: 9
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi, I am new to all of this, I am 39 years old and I was diagnoised with IDC March 21, 04. Due to insurance issues we had to make a hastened move to Miami and get all of our children there. My new dr. happens to be someone I know and therefore I trust her very much. She did a new mammogram and guess what, the tumor still does not show up. So going from all the information I was able to bring with me her assessment is this. I need a radical mastectomy because the tumor is directly underneath my nipple and due to the spread out fashion of the tumor I am not a good candidate for the sentinal node biopsy so when she does the mastectomy she will remove all the nodes under my left arm. So at this point I can not be staged past saying probably stage 2 without knowledge of the nodes. The only promising information I have rec'd is that the bone scan and CT scans are neg. This surgery is scheduled for Friday 4-23-04. I have spent all my energy for the past 2 1/2 weeks trying to get my family settled in our temporary home and trying to understand all of this. I am scared to death, what will it be like after the mastecomy, I am ot the most vain person in the world but I don't really know what happens. I have read about prothesis and I know my dr. wants me to wait until I finish chemo to do reconstruction. I am not sure what is involved in all of this can someone out there send me some answers.

How long does it take to recover from surgery?
Do you get the prothesis immediatedly?
Do you ever get over this?
Is the recovery very painful?
Any help would be most appreciated.

Comments

• DeeNY711
    DeeNY711 Member Posts: 476 Member
    Options