Radiation Fears

meshell
meshell Member Posts: 5
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi I am new to this board Can any one help me as I have heard lots of ladies say they really burn badly with radio i am due to start mine on the 23rd march are there any specific creams to use or supplements to use to help prevent . please help Thanks Michele

Comments

• RE
    RE Member Posts: 4,591 Member
    HI M. SHELL, THIS IS MY FIRST TIME TO THIS SITE AS WELL. I AM A TWO TIME BREAST CANCER SURVIVIOR. I HAVE HAD A TOTAL OF 16 WEEKS OF RADIATION. I DID BURN AND WHAT I FOUND THAT GAVE ME THE MOST RELIEF WERR RADIA CARE GEL SHEETS. THEY ARE MADE BY CARRINGTON. THEY ARE A TOPICAL DRESSING FOR RADIATION BURNS. I KEEP A FEW IN MY FRIG SO I CAN TELL OTHERS ABOUT THEM. HERE IS A PHONE NUMBER 1 800 358-5205. I HOPE THE NUMBER IS STILL VALID AS IT HAS BEEN 5 YEARS SINCE MY RAIDIATION. TRUST ME THERE IS HOPE. I WAS A STAGE 4 CANCER AND I HAVE BEEN CANCER FREE FOR 5 YEARS. GOD BLESS YOU I WILL KEEP YOU IN MY PRAYERS.
  • Watercolor
    Watercolor Member Posts: 45
    We all react differently to radiation / meds. I had 33 radiation treatments for DCIS stage 0. (The last treatment was one year ago last Friday.) At a support group prior to starting treatments, a woman was telling of oozing blisters, etc. I was worried.

During my three set-up appointments for radiation the oncologist told me to apply 100% aloe vera gel to the area three or four times per day. I did that faithfully beginning the day before treatments started. I had very little reaction to the radiation. My skin got red (not terribly) and dry. That was it. I kept up applying the gel for a few weeks after treatments ended. After about a month, my skin was back to normal.