What can nurses do to better help you?

Kitchell
Kitchell Member Posts: 62
edited March 2014 in Kidney Cancer #1
I am an RN student and I would like to know what the nurses who care for you could do to better help you? I'm anxious to get your feedback! Please reply!

Comments

• dejorgensen
    dejorgensen Member Posts: 13
    I like for nurses to give me information even when I don't ask for it right away. I don't always know what questions to ask, so a generic, "Do you have any questions?" does no good for me. Tell me what my blood pressure, pulse, etc. are. When I was in the hospital the BEST thing a nurse did for me was wash my hair! I felt so revolting and dirty, and she made me feel 100 times better. I think the fact that someone touched me without poking a hole in me or causing pain was a big factor, too. Another nurse told me what to expect each day as reaction to my surgery--he let me know when I'd been out of surgery 6 hours that between 12 and 36 hours post-surgery I'd feel really lousy. And I did, but I wasn't surprised that way. So basically, a nurse can help me by giving me information and touching me without poking a hole in me.
  • BARBARATT
    BARBARATT Member Posts: 16
    most hospitals are over crowded and are short handed. my stay at the hospital for 5 days was not pleasant. they treat you like a number. cold and just want to get there shift over.
  • babylinda
    babylinda Member Posts: 2