recurrence and reconstruction

Options
Judy123
Judy123 Member Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Seven years ago I had a lumpectomy, CAF, and radiation. This week I was diagnosed with DCIS in several places, and plan to have a mastectomy and reconstruction. I am considering tram flap, and would like to know your experiences with this procedure. Did you have it at the same time as the mastectomy, did you have expanders or was it done in one time, what what your time of recovery (I'm a teacher and would like some idea of how long I will have to be gone), any conplications or concerns, and anything else I need to know? Did any of you have the peg procedure for nipple reconstruction? I really appreciate your help. As you know, this is kind of a tough time. Thank you.

Comments

• LindaLempert
    LindaLempert Member Posts: 5
    Options
    I was diagnosed Dec. 2002 with DCIS in the left breast.I had the mastectomey and reconstruction at the same time and it was the tram flap. I was off of work for about 6 weeks. The breast came out very good but am not happy with the nipple. Main thing you have to remember is to do a lot of stretching. The only real "problem" I've had is the area where they took the muscle out of the abdomen. It gets pretty sore sometimes. I do have some bloating and quite a bit of numbness but I think that's to be expected. Just had my one year anniversary of being cancer free and thank the Lord for that. Linda B.
  • cruf
    cruf Member Posts: 908
    Options