Alternative and Complementary Therapies for Stage IV Breast Cancer

Coie
Coie Member Posts: 3
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
Hi! This is my first time online. I was dx w/infiltrating poorly differentiated ductal carcinoma-left breast. Underwent mastectomy lft breast Feb 2000. March 2002 recurrent ca w/met to rt lung. Nov 2002 met to liver. Have spent 12 months of chemo...currently on last option of navalbine and taxotere. Some slight decrease in lung tumor and liver tumor in Jan CT. Have been hospilized twice since March this year due to no white blood cells or infection. Treated for pnuemonia last week until a repeat scan is taken to clarify haze in rt lung. Doctor recommends stop chemo to give body rest and quality of life. Next treatments would have to be experimental. Will see oncologist in a week to further discuss. Scared and wanting to know if anyone out there has sought alternative therapies after chemo treatments have run out. I have begun researching local avenues for doctors who will provide such therapies. I live in San Antonio, Texas and if anyone has any information that can help me out, I would be very appreciative. There is so much info out there! I am currently reading "Healing Outside the MArgins" by Carole O'Toole. Has anyone heard of this book and read it and felt it was helpful? Is anyone in the same "boat"? Appreciate your responses.

Comments

• DeeNY711
    DeeNY711 Member Posts: 476 Member