Long lasting ALL symptoms

mc2001
mc2001 Member Posts: 343
edited March 2014 in Leukemia #1
Hi, I'm fairly new to this. But I was diagnosed with ALL when I turned 21. Was treated very aggressively and had very aggressive side effects. I am 29 years old now, but I still have some memory and fatigue problems which still warrant disability. Am I an odd ball, or is there someone else with chronic symptoms? I get the impression that people think I'm just pretending. I would really like to hear from anyone. Thanks a bunch.
-Michael
PS: I designed a leukemia web site and there is a lot of information. Just an FYI if you are interested and/or lookig for yourself or a loved one. Anyone is welcome to email me. Thank you.

my web site: www.geocities.com/leukemia_lymphoma
my email: leu_lym@yahoo.com

Comments

• dickl
    dickl Member Posts: 39
    mc2001,
    You are not pretending, they are called late effects. My son had a BMT for AML in 1996 at age 7. He has great memory problems and chronic fatigue among many long term effects of heavy chemo. You can take neuropsych tests that will show memory and neurological effects. There is a great book by Wende Hobbe from Children's Hospital of Philadelhia about specific treatments and the specific late effects they cause .I think the book is called " Surviving Childhood Cancer". You can get it from Amazon.com
    Feel free to e-mail me here if there's anything I can help with. I check this site regularly.

dickl
  • josue
    josue Member Posts: 1
    I am a 30 year-old male from Florida. I was dx with ALL 2 months from my 21st birthday. I also suffer from some memory problems, fatigue and peripheral neuropathy.