looking for young adult children of survivors for documentary

neetsmalik
neetsmalik Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Caregivers #1
Hi, both my mother and father suffer from cancer. My mother is a breast cancer survivor and my father is currrently struggling with multiple myeloma. I am only 25 years old and the challenge of dealing with sick parents has been quite tough. I think it is a unique and challengeing experience. An experience that people need to know more about. I am a graduate student at the Univeristy of Southern California in Broadcast Journalism. I am producing a short documentary for my theis on "young people coping with ailing parnets". I am looking for anyone from 18-30 in such a situation that might want to talk to me preferably somebody in california or arizona. it is a story that should be told.

Comments

• jnrodg
    jnrodg Member Posts: 5
    What you're doing is really great. I'm not quite what you're looking for but let me know if I can help. I'm 21 and my father is a survivor of Hodgkin's. He was diagnosed when I was 16.
  • kimmipoo
    kimmipoo Member Posts: 1
    Hi, I am a 19 year old female from Michigan. They treated my 42 year old mother for a "sinus infection" for 6 months before diagnosing her with Lymphoma Cancer. She passed away June 6th of 2002 and its still only been a few months. Everyday I go by wondering what things would have been like if they would have found it sooner. I dont go by a day without crying and wishing she were here. Is there any thing that I can do to help me cope? Plus, her and my father were married for almost 25 years (it would have been 25 on the day we buried her) and hes not dealing with it as well as I am and its killing me. There isnt a day he doesnt bring up what things are like without her and how he misses her. I mean, Im not trying to forget about her, but I need to move on and its really hard with my dad... Can someone please help me? Kimberly
  • snowbudie
    snowbudie Member Posts: 4