Taxotere

Options
jane38
jane38 Member Posts: 123
edited March 2014 in Breast Cancer #1
This is for all the ladies who have taken Taxotere. My oncologist (who is no longer my oncologist, but that is another story)told me at the beginning of chemo that I would "like" Taxotere, that it would not make me as sick as CAF. CAF was very hard for me, lots of nausea, no vomiting, and fatigue, malaise and just generally feeling punk. Taxotere did not make me nauseated, but I do believe every bone in my body hurt as if someone was beating on them with hammers. My feet got numb and tingly. The soles cracked around my heels and my toes. My fingertips got very sore and tender and as I type for a living this was not good. I got sores in my mouth each cycle. All of this has since gone away and it has been 13 months since I had my last dose of it. But my toes still crack on the bottoms making it very uncomfortable. It's just like paper cuts all the time with little pieces of skin getting caught on my socks, stockings or if I am barefoot (which I prefer) on the carpet. Do any of you still have these problems? If so, did your doctor tell you about these before hand or was it a well-guarded secret? Just curious! Jane

Comments

• lalonde13
    lalonde13 Member Posts: 6
    Options
    Dear Jane,
    I was put on a protocol(study) because I fit their criteria. No history of breast cancer in my family, had my children early, breast fed, and premenopausal. I was in the group that was assigned 4 A/C and 4 taxotere. I experienced pretty much the same as you except I began to spit up blood after not eating for 14 straight days. I lost 20 lbs. and was a mess. No one told me anything about my nails falling off after turning green nor about the "frozen" feet and fingers which I still have today, and I finished chemo April 25th. They keep telling me, "everyone's different" when I ask when I might expect to have feeling back. If I had it to do over I'm not sure I would take Taxotere again.