Newly Diagnosed and SCARED!

Hi everyone!  I am very new to this-3 days since learning I had Squamous Cell Carcinoma P16.  i am 49 and am staring down my own mortality already.  I can't believe the number of emotions that I have felt, been through, or worried about in these 3 short days.  I have a PET scan tomorrow, and outside of being slightly claustrophibic, I want it done.  I want it all done! 

Is there anyone who is willing to help me weed through the plethora of HORRIBLE side effects a Chemo-Radiaiton treatment plan and how I can help myself prior?  I have to think I can prepare somehow.  I also just started a new job and feel like I will have to take an extended leave.  Are there some of you who tried to work during chemo, radiation?  I feel stupid even asking that knowing the HELL you have been through and I will be going through. I'm just scared and my mind is racing. 

:(

Comments

• motorcycleguy
    motorcycleguy Member Posts: 483 Member
    Kempta,

You're already doing one right thing - you're reaching out for help and support!

I finished my treatment about 5 months ago - and I still remember clearly how scared I was, when I first got the news.

But, the people on here are proof that you will make it through!

My initial advice is to have an advocate with you (family member or close friend). My girlfriend was absolutely perfect at helping me through it, and took notes during Oncologist visits. It's so much better to have a 2nd person with you!

Another thing to consider, is don't be afraid of putting on a few pounds. It may be challenging to maintain weight - so if you can gain a couple pounds now - it will help.

I'm sending a prayer your way - and I'm looking forward to hearing that you're done with your treatments and doing well. You will get through this!!

• motorcycleguy
    Kempta - a couple more things,