I can't remember who my mom was before diagnosis...anyone else experience this?

Options
aamat
aamat Member Posts: 1

Hi im new to this but to start of, my mom got diagnosed with Breast cancer when I was 12.  My memories during and after this period arent very happy and are not what i want to remember my mom by.  She went into remission for a year but her cancer metasisized to her liver my freshamn year of High School.  I just feel like she has always had cancer.  Im 18 now and most of my memories of her from before her diagnosis are very blurry and hard to fully grasp.  Its so weird. like after 6 years i am just now realizing i can barely remember my childhood.  I cant describe in words how uncomfertable and sad it makes me feel that i have a massive chunk of my life missing.  I have tried to concentrate and try and think of memories i shared with my mom before, but all i could remember were short, unreliabe flashbacks.  How can this be, i thought people surpress their unwanted memories, not their good ones.  I can play back my memories of all the sad and depressing memories i experienced during my moms first diagnosis as clear as a movie.  I can even start feeling the same emotions i felt during those memories which is complete SH*T because they are not good feelings what so ever.  Why cant i remember the cute and happy memories of my mom before she got sick instead of memories of having to take care of her when she'd get sick from chemo or the first time i saw my mom cry when she had to shave her head.  Why do i have to remeber so clearly how fast i had to grow up from a care-free, self centered 12 year old to a full grown adult in a matter of days.  I know she may have months or even years left in my life, but i dont want to only remember my mom while she was sick.  She is the most selfless, strongest and caring person I've ever met in my life and is my best friend.  She has always been there for me and i love her so much i can't picture my life without her.