I'm a newbie

Options
tootsie1
tootsie1 Member Posts: 5,044 Member
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hi. I'm a newbie to this board and to cancer. I was diagnosed with colon cancer in Nov. and resected the day after Thanksgiving. It was Stage I. Yay! But I'm still having trouble sleeping and getting over the worry of it all. Just had a lump discovered in my breast. It is being checked again in 6 months. Supposedly okay, but of course it makes me wonder if I'll have more to deal with in the future... Do you ever feel like yourself again? Besides being tired, I just feel like a different animal now.

Comments

• shmurciakova
    shmurciakova Member Posts: 906 Member
    Options
    Hi Tootsie!
    Welcome to the forum. In my opinion you have a wonderful prognosis. The likelihood, as your doctors I am sure have told you is that you will never have to deal with colon cancer again. We will all keep our fingers crossed about the breast lump. There are others on this forum who have had to deal with that, that I am sure will chime in. I guess you never know for sure what you will have to deal with in the future, so as the cliche answer goes, you have to take advantage of every day you are fortunate enough to be healthy and alive! I still deal with stress, read my post "stress case" farther down the page. Granted, I went through a much worse scenario than yours, so there is hope for you yet! (to feel like yourself again). I do have lucid moments of feeling like my old self, but I am certainly more paranoid about physical symptoms now - such as what I am dealing with at the moment. It is scary and you certainly are made more aware of the fragility of life, but I see no reason for you to be overly concerned. You are a different animal now, but you will be fine, and thrive!
    -Susan H.
  • jams67
    jams67 Member Posts: 925 Member
    Options