Need Kongo help----Diet

ob66
ob66 Member Posts: 227 Member
edited March 2014 in Prostate Cancer #1
Kongo, we have communicated before. You, and other sources, have made me a believer in the Mediterranean diet approach to reduce recurrence---NO red meats, NO dairy, and as little sugar as humanly possible. I have been doing it for 2 months with great success. But my query is an interesting one. My wife, a great cook, has searched and searched for GOOD recipes for such dietary habits. She has great sauces for salmon, great squash and bean chili recipes, but needs variety. We have read the Med diet book, googled such sources, and generally find that Barefoot Contessa is the best. Today she went to Barnes and Noble to check out (and buy) the new Cookling Light book on Vegan recipes. The only problem is that there is a lot of dairy in their recipes. As you can guess my problem is that she likes to cook at a high level, but within the parameters of the "Med diet" as it is called. As you have done this for some time, I would wish that you would have some suggestions. Or anyone else for that matter. Thanks in advance, Bob

Comments

• Kongo
    Kongo Member Posts: 1,166 Member
    Diet
    Bob,

You may wish to check out "Eating For Better Health: Help Fight and Prevent Many Common Health Problems Through Diet" by Professor Jane Plant and available from Amazon.

Professor Plant actually includes a little red meat sparingly.

You might also try soy burgers, soy cheese, soy yogurt, soy sausages, etc. I also do chicken or turkey burgers a lot.

Glad things are going great.
  • ob66
    Kongo said:

Diet
    Bob,

You may wish to check out "Eating For Better Health: Help Fight and Prevent Many Common Health Problems Through Diet" by Professor Jane Plant and available from Amazon.

Professor Plant actually includes a little red meat sparingly.

You might also try soy burgers, soy cheese, soy yogurt, soy sausages, etc. I also do chicken or turkey burgers a lot.