Parotid Gland Swelling (Saliva Gland)

Charmed324
Charmed324 Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Thyroid Cancer #1
Hi everyone I am new to CSN. I was diagnose with Papillary Thyroid Cancer in May 2009 and in June 2009 had a TT. I was informed by my doctors that the cancer that I had was an agressive one so they had to give me a high dose (150) of the RAI 131. The RAI was done in August 2009 and I was in the hospital for 2 days. For the past month and 1/2 I have been getting swelling in the Parotid Gland (Saliva) and am having this salty taste secret from the ducts. The gland swells up everytime I eat and then subside about 20 minutes after I am done. My cheeks swell up so bad that I get tired of eating after the first 5 minutes. I had a ct-scan done to see if they were any stones blocking the ducts and it came back negative. Doing research online I think that the RAI had damage my ducts and I may have scar tissue. I really dont know how long this will last but it is not a great feeling. I feel like a squirrel with nuts in my cheeks. If anyone is experiencing the same as me please respond to this post. I am due to see my doctor on March 2 to see what other testing can be done.

Comments

• Cathy514
    Cathy514 Member Posts: 2
    Parotid Gland Swelling