Hurthle Cell Carcinoma

Comments

• loispol1
    loispol1 Member Posts: 84
    Sisu61 said:

New to this
    Lois,

I have been reading everyone's emails in this site and was recently diagnosed with Hurthle Cell thyroid cancer. Mine was 3.5 x 3.3 x 3.1 and took 3 hours to remove. They didn't find it was cancer until a week later and still have to go back in and now take the right side out in April. My TSH was 4.53 before surgery and 5.65 a couple weeks after so they started me on thyroid meds until the next surgery. I have been feeling really run down but have gotten some energy back. Lately have been feeling anxious and "snappy" at times. They also thought my thyroid was Hastimotos thyroiditis after they removed the left side. Still in the early stages of everything, needing the other surgery and then 3 weeks of the low iodine diet prior to RAI in June. I am concerned about my energy then and figuring out what I can eat. I work as a RN and work 12 hour shifts, of course hard to do without any energy.

I hope things get better for you and you are right that this support discussion is very helpful. I have learned alot just from reading everyone's responses but still feel I don't know alot about this cancer. My endocrinologist researched Hurthle cell cancers when she worked at Mayo but said it was hard finding out any information since there were
    not many cases out there.

Hope that energy returns soon.

Karleen

Hi Kathleen