from an oncology nurse

bestmom
bestmom Member Posts: 5
edited March 2014 in Grief and Bereavement #1
I have been an oncology nurse for the past 3 years at a major medical center in northern california. I became a nurse because my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer in 2001. She went into remission, relapsed, went into remission again, and relapsed for the final time. I lost her October 31st 2009. We were very close and I miss her so much. I designed my career around helping and caring for her and now I dont know what to do with myself. I cant be an oncology nurse anymore - it's too painful. I feel guilty for letting her die. Why didnt I suggest city of hope? Or seek out a second opinion when the oncologist said there was nothing left to be done? I knew better and I had all the tools and knowledge to prevent this from happening. I was just in a state of shock and not thinking clearly. I just want her back.

Comments

• grandmafay
    grandmafay Member Posts: 1,633 Member
    Guilt