it's all so new

natmat
natmat Member Posts: 18
edited March 2014 in Lung Cancer #1
Hello. I am very new to this whole thing. I was diagnosed with stage 3a cancer on my right lung and lymph nodes only yesterday. The doctor told me I have had it for years, with absolutely no signs. Almost 4 years ago I quit smoking, changed my diet and exercise regularly. Coming down with pneumonia is the how they found it.
My doctor is pushing things along as fast as he can. They want a CAT scan and PET scan and insert a port. He hopes to start chemo within the next two weeks. He scared me by stating if I am still here in 2 years, we will be on the road to recovery. I am only 45. I don't want to die and I don't know what to do.
do I change my diet more? do I plan for the inevitable of dying? I am afraid of losing everything my husband (of 25 years) and I have worked so hard for. I am afraid of losing my job when all options run out. I worry for my children and husband.
there is so much going through my mind, I can't wrap my head around this. I have read many posts here and they did bring me some comfort. I want to fight and I want to beat it, but what do you need to do that?
I am glad I found this site and return frequently on a daily basis already. Please, tell me where you found your strength.

Comments

• rick devin
    rick devin Member Posts: 6
    it's all so new