Still shocked, bewildered and Just can't believe it!!

TonyJr
TonyJr Member Posts: 33
edited March 2014 in Prostate Cancer #1
Hi everyone,

I'm new to the family and I can't believe whats happening to me, I've worked in the medical field 20 years now and I've taught medical assistants as well. I now find myself on the recieving end of stick, sort of speak....I can't believe whats happening to me...
I found out in 12/09 also...with an elevated PSA of 7.3 went for a second blood test and it was 7.1...not a big difference. Went to a radiantion uncologist friend of mind, and he said at 44 with a stage 1 TA I think I was a good candidate for Da Vinci so thats where I'm headed. I live in West Palm Beach, Florida and now I'm going to see Dr. Patel in Kissimee...he's suppose to be the Guru of rotobotic Da Vinci, we'll see.
Everyone here has been so informative and I thank you, I'm just still in aw of it all...I feel so vulnerable, like I lost my MOJO!! I haven't even gotten up the nerves to tell my 19yr old son who lives in LA with my ex....I figure after my surgery all goes well I'll have to let him know...he'll soon need to have routine PSA check ups...

Thanks for just reading....any responses would be greatly appreciated....I'm totally overwhelmed by this all...with all the support I have and prayer I still feel LOST!!

TonyJr..!!

Comments

• randy_in_indy
    randy_in_indy Member Posts: 496 Member
    Tony Jr. We are here for you!
    Listen, I am sorry to hear you are part of this unwanted club...we really don't want any new members...but once we have them we can help and there is much here to help you through this experience from many different people and experiences. Here are a couple of positives right out of the gate.

- Looks like you might have caught this very early.
    - You are young and will have a very good chance for complete recovery with very little side effects.