running out of chemo options and money

crazylady
crazylady Member Posts: 543 Member
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hi everyone,

I hope you're all doing well. It has been a long time since I have posted. I hope you will be able to give me some ideas.

I had chemo today. I have mets to my lungs. I have now reacted to oxi and cpt11 and can no longer receive them. I carry the k-ras mutation so erbitux is not an option. I spent 2009 stable on xeloda and avastin, but scans in December showed growth of existing lung mets. I have had 1 resection on each lung. After the second resection new mets showed up within 3 months. I am now considered inoperable and not a candidate for RFA because 1 spot is too close to an artery. I have been to UCLA and City of Hope for 2nd and 3rd opinions. They have had nothing to offer me.

I am extremely frustrated and upset. I don't feel sick from cancer, only from chemo side effects. I have been doing this for almost 6 years and am not ready to throw in the towel. I'm way too young and healthy to just let it go.

I am also having financial problems. I was a stay at home Mom for many years and qualify for nothing. I fall through every crack in the system.
I have insurance with a $4,000 deductible for the year which I cannot pay. I am looking for any agency that can help with the deductible. Any suggestions or information that you have is greatly appreciated.

Take care and have a good night!
Jamie

Comments

• Buzzard
    Buzzard Member Posts: 3,043 Member
    Jamie........
    I picked up a pamphlet at my Oncs office about financial institutions that help cancer patients with different things such as deductibles, gas, etc. I will see if I can find it again and I will post it up for you... sometimes because of the enormity of the treatment charges the onc or surgeons will sometimes write off the deductible expense for you. Maybe you can speak with financial aid at your treatment facility...
  • JDuke
    JDuke Member Posts: 438