Newbie questions

sd7777
sd7777 Member Posts: 9
I was dx with uterine cancer sept.24 09. I am only 38 years old.I am obese. . It was a total shock. I did not expect this at all.I have to boys w/ autism and one has a seizure disorder just DX . I go to the cancer doctor on Oct. 5 09 to find out about surgery. This is what I know .My uterus is 8cm or larger in size normal uterus is 4cm in size; I am having problems with blood clotting too much. The doctor took 17 vials of blood to see why. My first biopsy said I was 1/3 stage. This was done in the doctor office. They say it’s early.
I have been bleeding for a year maybe 2 months out of that year I did not bleed. I have heavy clotting and bleeding my doc put me on progesterone to help for now.
I am scared and worried I am full of questions. What type of testing will be done before surgery? How long does it take to have the surgery from the meeting of cancer doc.? Has any one here had early cancer and can tell me what to expect? Is blood clotting to much a normal thing with cancer? I have pain in my lower back only when I walk.
So many questions this is a start. Please help.
sd

Comments

• This comment has been removed by the Moderator
  • Lisa 00
    Lisa 00 Member Posts: 134 Member
    heavy bleeding
    Hi SD,
    I haven't seen very many women on this board mention heavy bleeding prior to diagnosis, but maybe they had it and it's just been too long ago for them to think about.

I'm writing to tell you that I did have heavy bleeding which resulted in large amounts of humungous clots. I lost about half of my blood before I got to surgery for the hysterectomy. It was really scary. My hemoglobin got down to 7. I would just bleed and bleed, at times I had to go to the bathroom every few minutes and every time I stood up big clots just fell out of me. But I did finally get some progesterone and it stopped it dead in it's tracks about a week before the surgery.