GBM survivor?

onlyhuman
onlyhuman Member Posts: 99
edited March 2014 in Brain Cancer #1
Hi all
My husband had a brain tumour (grade 3) in 2001 and we thought he was in remission when in March this year he had another seizure (first since 2001) and scans showed 2 new tumours (Scans in Dec08 were clean). He was diagnosed with GBM. The tumours were completely removed in March but recent scans (early Aug) show a recurrence about 2 cm from one of the original sites. I was wondering if you are or know of someone who in spite of recurrences has survived beyond the grim prognosis this condition brings with it?

Comments

• sue Siwek
    sue Siwek Member Posts: 279
    i have no experience but
    i have no experience but would suggest that you google your question and you will get some answers. good luck.
  • Betsy Vane
    Betsy Vane Member Posts: 1
    Survivors
    Dear Onlyhuman,

I am so surprised that you didn't get more response to this question. You may want to check out cancercompass.com - a while back someone posted asking for survivor stories, and the responding stories were heartening: http://www.cancercompass.com/message-board/message/all,29237,0.htm. Also, if you haven't already, you should get Ben Williams' book - he's a 14-year survivor. It's from 2002 but he has updated some of the stuff about treatment on his website. Jerry Kline's story is also worth reading http://www.jerrykline.com/articles/survivor/survivor.pdf and so is David Bailey's http://www.davidmbailey.com/bio.html. I know there are many others.

My 59-year-old mother was diagnosed with GBM 4 in May. She is being treated at Duke and so far they are not doing the usual palliative standard of care - they are throwing everything they've got at her, which gives us hope that she might survive beyond the few months that is the average. It is so hard to know where to land, emotionally - whether to be grieving or believing in survival. There's a sweet spot in there somewhere but it's hard to find.