After first week of chemo...terrible back pain...diagnosis 2 bulging disks, 2 pinched nerves...????

meandmcgee
meandmcgee Member Posts: 5
My husband was diagnosed 2 weeks ago. He has had his first treatment. One week after that, terrible back pain. Dr. said that a lot of times underlying problems arise after treatment. Now we're headed to a neurologist for this problem. What is going on? Have any of you had these types of problems?
Thanks!

Comments

• hodgkoid2003
    hodgkoid2003 Member Posts: 94
    After first week...
    You didn't mention what type of cancer or what kind of chemo drugs were involved, but I'll wing it. The first thing that I would suggest doing, is research the chemo drugs and their side effects. A lot of times, we only take in what the doctors tell us, which are the more common side effects, when there are occasionally other lesser known, or notated effects.

I am not a doctor, but I feel kind of weird that after only one week, that other "problems" might be uncovered. Not saying it's not possible, just, never heard of it happening.

Keep the neurologist appointment, but make sure to take the chemo regimen with you, including the dosage. This will be important information to them.

Paul E. (Hodgkoid2003)
  • meandmcgee

After first week...
    You didn't mention what type of cancer or what kind of chemo drugs were involved, but I'll wing it. The first thing that I would suggest doing, is research the chemo drugs and their side effects. A lot of times, we only take in what the doctors tell us, which are the more common side effects, when there are occasionally other lesser known, or notated effects.

I am not a doctor, but I feel kind of weird that after only one week, that other "problems" might be uncovered. Not saying it's not possible, just, never heard of it happening.

Keep the neurologist appointment, but make sure to take the chemo regimen with you, including the dosage. This will be important information to them.