NEW TO PAGE, LOTS OF TOPICS

ljrn1963
ljrn1963 Member Posts: 7
edited March 2014 in Lung Cancer #1
Hello, this is my first time to this web site, and I have learned so much. In July, 2007, on my birthday no less, I was diagnosed with Stage I NSC lung cancer. I had no symptoms, I was just going to the doctor for my annual chest x-ray because I reeact positively to the Mantoux test, which checks for tuberculosis. I needed to get this because I'm a nurse, or was. I had a right middle lobectomy at 43 years old. The doctors said that there was no need for chemo or radiation because the site was so small. Did I mention that my mother was diagnosed with NSC lung cancer 6 months before me? Hers was inoperable due to it being wrapped around the arota of her heart. She started chemo right away. The canceer spread to her breast and brain. She finally started on Tarceva. They stopped that when she started having strokes. Mom died on April 3, 2009, She still had hope. We were so close with treatments that we were able to joke with each other about going bald at the same times. Anyway, last year in October, I went back for my yearly CT/PET scans. The cancer had metastasized to my lymph nodes and spine. I was started on Cisplatin, Taxotere, and Radiation. About a two months later, I started having severe left leg pain. The cancer had metastsized to more parts of my bones. Left femur, sacrum, and spine. More radiation, more chemo. Recently started having uncontrolled pain in my ischial tuberosity, right arm and left knee, and base of my skull. More radiation and started Tarceva. It seems like it never stops. The pain neveer stops. I have been on Duragesic, morphine, and now oxycontin. I have a daughter with a drug addict boyfried, so I got a safe, guess what, they were able to break into that, after seeing me writh in pain. Don't know how she could have allowed that. But anyway, One way that I can help people out there with cancer is by giving advice on finding money for funding. I