possible renal ca recurrence

jadaca
jadaca Member Posts: 1
edited March 2014 in Kidney Cancer #1
Hi all - I am new to this. My husband had a left partial lower nephrectomy for "slow growing" renal cell ca over 1 year ago. Ct scan after 6 months was negative. He had a CT scan last week. They said that there is a suspicious growth adjacent to the bowel-on his kidney. CT 6 months ago showed this but they thought it was scar tissue. Noe it has grown bigger. They want to do a biopsy. I thought that this should not be done d/t dispersement of cancer cells if positive. Does anyone have any info or a similar episode like this? Please answer asap, as we are going for consult in 2 days. Thanks--Cyn

Comments

• anniec
    anniec Member Posts: 18
    Keep the faith, this seems to be our new reality, we will be checked and double checked. I would ask if it's possible to remove this growth completely, I also had a partial 13 weeks ago, Don't know what's ahead for me either. Can only stay positive!! Good luck to you and your husband, Anniec
  • tbado
    tbado Member Posts: 11
    mine was a total rt. nephrectomy (primary nearly as big as the kidney. I have about 20 other mets. They did biopsy them to be sure what they were. I have one of the best Onc. in the area(advantage of being in medical field) yet I still did a backstop check at first (2nd opinion from another Onc. at a different institution no connections to the other) Nothing personal it is just my life that I was making chioces about. Hope this helps
  • KCFighter
    KCFighter Member Posts: 50
    I almost had a partial, the doctor cut next to the tumor though & had to take the whole kidney. I actually wish I would never had agreed to the partial. When dealing with cancer, just doesn't make sense to take any chances. I have read that biopsy isn't advised for kidney cancer. I would recommend asking why they don't just take the whole growth. Is there a down side to that?
  • Time2luv
    Time2luv Member Posts: 49