What now?

mander
mander Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Prostate Cancer #1
Hi. It is my first time on here. My husband (now 55) was diagnosed about 3.5 years ago with prostate cancer. His PSA was 25, and his Gleason was 8 (4+4). I always get mixed up on his stage, but it was in his seminal vesicles, but bone scan and other tests were clear.

He had IMRT radiation, and was on hormone therapy for 2 years following. His PSA went down to .1. It has stayed there until August, when it went up to 1.2. The increase started less than a year after he went off the hormone therapy. His last PSA test (a few weeks ago) was still 1.2.

I guess I am wondering if anyone has experience with what to expect now. His way of dealing with this is to say very little about it to me, and pretend everything is going to be okay. I just need to know what to expect for my own sanity. Docots won't really talk to me because of confidentiality, so I am left to guess on my own. I am also dealing with my mom who has breast cancer, and 2 teenagers, and would really like to have some idea how fast this disease usually progresses at this point.

He has been having pain in one spot in the middle of his back for a few months now (off to one side), and his latest amylase test was elevated (suggesting an inflammation of the pancreas?). I am wondering if any of this might be connected to the prostate cancer.

Thank you so much for any help you might offer.

Comments

• 2ndBase
    2ndBase Member Posts: 220