Caregiver Questions...

cateristar
cateristar Member Posts: 2
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hello - I am new to CSN and so far, really appreciate the feedback and positive energy from the "chat room." My mom was diagnosed with colon cancer two years ago. She has undergone several chemo treatments and the cancer has spread to her liver and now has about 2-dozen nodules in her lungs. We are now moving to a treatment that is called irinotican(sp?) with cetuximab, recommendation from an Oncologist at Dana Farber. I am really scared to lose her. She told me tonight that she is scared to die. I continue to be positive and uplifting. She is doing amazingly well and all her vitals/tests on liver, etc., come back totally normal. Are these good signs? At stage 4 cancer, can one survive with this type of spreading? The Oncologist said that everyone is different with responding to treatment. What else can me and my sister do? I pray all the time...I lost my dad in 1978 - she is the only parent left. Any insight would be great. Thank you.

Comments

• spongebob
    spongebob Member Posts: 2,565 Member
    cat -

What a wonderful daughter you are, seeking help for you mom the way you are. She is blessed to have you and your sister.

Her onc is right, everyone responds to treatment differently. It's a wait and see game. Sounds like he is being positive as is your mom. Being afraid to die... now there's an issue. cat, we're all going to do it sooner or later. Help her focus on beating the cancer, not on being afraid to die. Keep her positive. That positive energy is what she needs to help her in this fight. Not negative energy of being afraid to die. Death is part of life. We all try to postpone it as long as possible, and that's a good thing as long as the steps we take to postpone it don't make us feel as though we wish we were dead! There is definitely that point of diminishing returns there...