Latest news

vanser
vanser Member Posts: 100 Member
edited March 2014 in Colorectal Cancer #1
Hi everyone,

I have been posting every so often regarding my mother, who was diagnosed in Jan 03 with Stage III, (4 lymph nodes involved), and had a recurrence this March.

Her surgery was on Monday, and the doctor said there were just a few cells at the joint where the operation was. He was very optimistic and said he did not see anything else - he however had to give my mom a permanent colostomy, as he thought this was the best way to try and get rid of everything.

We are keeping our fingers crossed, and were happy to hear that he did not see any spread elsewhere.

Does anyone know if the fact that he had to perform a colosomy is a bad sign?

Thanks!

Comments

• littlejulie
    littlejulie Member Posts: 311
    Hi there,
    I'm new at this since my mother was just diagnosed last month with stage 3. i've talked to many people and have read a lot. the colosomy is not a bad sign at all!! the tumor must have been too low and couldn't have been avoided. just thank god the cancer is out and nothing else was found. im hoping the same for my mom! good luck and all the best to you. speak to tara - she's very sweet, a lot of help and had a colosomy aswell. she's doing GREAT today!!!
  • drmrgirl47
    drmrgirl47 Member Posts: 129
    Hi, I too have been diagnosed with Stage 3, with 3 nodes involved. I had surgery to remove my tumor Jan 27, 04. My surgeon said there was a good possibility I would have a permanent colostomy as the tumor was so low. However, they found more room than they thought and luckily I was given a temporary colostomy. I don't think this was a bad thing for your mom. This probably was the best for her. Will she be undergoing chemo and/or radiation after her surgery? Good luck to you both. God bless you.
  • nanuk
    nanuk Member Posts: 1,358 Member
    How could a colostomy be a bad thing? There are lots of us "bag people" out there..just 'cause we